This page contains untranslated content.

Spam PEXICOM controller is Maine elected official

Martin VanBuren
Posted Jan 29, 2005 5:37 PM
MartinVanBuren
Albany, NY
Post #: 1
For people trying to track down spammer "PEXICOM, INC.", or related
operations, PEXICOM, PEXICAST, PEXIMED, read on...

Although company founder Douglas Field (who works and
lives in NYC and is even an FCC licensed Ham Radio
operator who graduated from Yale) might be hard to
track down, the company controller -- Teri McRae --
actually lives up in Portland, Maine. She is bust,
too... she's also an elected public official - on the
local school committee AND is the register of probate
(whatever that is !?!) It seems she and Douglas
Fields both like to play cards and are bridge contest
champions... Hmmm...........


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Crystal Cave - Fight Spam
Other Mail Account 29 (6.09%). Our current Scumbag
Spam Pig is: Pexicom, Inc. Spam Pig of the Moment.
www.thecrystalcave.net/blocklists.
asp?results=true&offset=360
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This spammer that we were trying to identify with that
string was probably
Douglas Fields of Pexicom, Inc. His old network is in
www.mail-archive.com/declude.
junkmail@declude.com/msg12647.html
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NYS Department Of State Corporations

Current Entity Name: PEXICOM, INC.
Initial DOS Filing Date: OCTOBER 02, 2001
County: NEW YORK
Jurisdiction: DELAWARE
Entity Type: FOREIGN BUSINESS CORPORATION
Current Entity Status: ACTIVE

DOS Process (Address to which DOS will mail process if
accepted on behalf of the entity)
PEXICOM, INC. C/O KANTOR DAVIDOFF WOLFE RABINO
MANDELKER & KASS, PC
51 E 42ND ST
NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10017

Chairman or Chief Executive Officer
DOUGLAS P. FIELDS, JR.
122 E 42ND ST / SUITE 1618
NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10168

Principal Executive Office
PEXICOM, INC.
122 E 42ND ST / SUITE 1618
NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10168
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PEXICOM, Inc.
PO Box 1580
New York, NY 10021

(847) 919-7916
(866) PEXI-FAX Toll-Free

<http://www.pexicom.co...

Pexicom is a developer and provider of unique secure
messaging solutions meeting the needs of targeted
niche markets. By developing proprietary applications
and implementing innovative secure technologies as
well as stringent business rules, Pexicom has created
unique web enabled tools that help specific industries
achieve high levels of security and privacy while
streamlining the convergence of various electronic
communications via well-defined portals.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wednesday, October 20, 2004

County boards attract contests
By MARK PETERS, Portland Press Herald Writer
<http://www.mainetoday...

REGISTER OF PROBATE

NAME: Teri McRae

POLITICAL PARTY: Republican
AGE: 48
ADDRESS: 619 Allen Ave., Portland, Maine
PERSONAL: Married, one son and one stepson
EDUCATION: Graduate, George Washington High School,
Denver, Colo.; bachelor's degree in economics,
Brandeis University, Waltham, Mass.; master's degree
in business administration, Massachusetts Institute of
Technology

EMPLOYMENT: Controller, Pexicom Inc.

POLITICAL EXPERIENCE: Portland School Committee,
2002-present
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Terri E. McRae, Register of Probate

Cumberland County Courthouse
142 Federal Street, Portland, Maine 04101 (207)
871-8382
email: mcrae@cumberlandcounty.org
<http://www.cumberland...
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------PORTLAND
SCHOOL COMMITTEE

2004/2005
( Last updated: 01/21/2005 )

<http://www.portlandsc...

Teri McRae, 2005
619 Allen Ave.
Portland, Maine 04103
(h) (207) 797-8633 e-mail: mcraet@portlandschools.org

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This company is actually a front for Pexicom which is
currently one of the highest volume spammers around.
If you reverse DNS query this address and the others
around it, you will find the standard Pexicom results
where it returns two name servers and then 6
sequentially numbered mail servers. Then there's the
fact that SenderBase shows this stuff to belong to
Pexicom:

http://www.senderbase...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Re: [Declude.JunkMail] Is DRCI Inc. a spamhouse?
Wednesday, February 04, 2004 12:20 PM Subject: Re:
[Declude.JunkMail]
www.mail-archive.com/declude.
junkmail@declude.com/msg15912.htm

This stuff if worthy of deletion, in fact, it's not
even close. While there is often good reason to think
twice about what SORBS might list, don't think twice
about what SBL lists, and if you feel compelled to do
so, at least look at their evidence file.
http://www.spamhaus.o...

Pexicom is definitely ROKSO-bound. They have address
blocks all over the place and have been tracked by
SenderBase sending volumes of spam that exceed 1
million messages a day from a single IP address.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Re: [Declude.JunkMail] Pexicom - was one more try...
Matthew Bramble
Thu, 06 Nov 2003 13:30:32 -0800

I did a little more checking around those IP blocks
and found that I only had a small portion of this
guy's network tagged. He has about 600 IP's and over
30 domains spread across 5 concurrent blocks of
addresses. Naturally this isn't necessarily all of
it, but you can identify more blocks by searching the
headers of a spam capture for occurrences of "X-JLH:"
in the headers, which is unique to this guy at the
moment. This is what I have thus far:

208.184.54.0/25
208.184.58.0/25
209.249.21.128/25
209.249.55.128/25
216.200.60.16/28
216.200.60.32/27
216.200.60.64/26

I also listed the domains that come up in reverse DNS
as comments in the filter file, though you probably
don't need to be filtering for them.

I rewrote the filter to work as an "ipfile" in
Declude, which means that it will work on Standard as
well as Pro versions. This one block of addresses
sends a piece of spam to my server once every 10
minutes or less on a volume of about 4,000 a day
currently. This means that he is responsible for
about 3.6% of my total mail volume, and of course,
3.6% of my mail filtering processing power. He also
isn't listed consistently on any RBL's with these
addresses and only fails most of the time on my server
because he also has a problem with BADHEADERS. So I
think it definitely makes sense to add the attached
filter (note the slight configuration change to
reflect the "ipfile" type instead of "filter" type).
It should be very easy on resources, but kill it when
SBL picks up the block.

Considering the volume of spam from this o
Powered by mvnForum